The 39th Annual Mid-America Theatre Conference

Hyatt Regency Milwaukee  ~~  March 15-18, 2018


Call for Nominations

The Nominations and Appointments Committee of the Mid-America Theatre Conference (MATC) is seeking nominations and self-nominations for a number of co-chair positions (a downloadable PDF of this announcement can be obtained here). According to the MATC by-laws, the Nominations and Appointments Committee (NA Committee) is responsible for facilitating the orderly and transparent selection, election, and succession of important roles within MATC. The NA Committee is chaired by the President-Elect and includes the senior symposia co-chairs and two elected members-at-large.

This year we seek nominations and self-nominations for the following positions, which will be elected by the membership at MATC:


  • Associate Conference Coordinator
  • Webmaster
  • Nominations & Appointments Committee Members-At-Large
  • Graduate Student Liaison (elected by graduate student members only)

We also seek nominations and self-nominations for the following positions, which will be appointed by the Nominations and Appointments Committee:

  • Co-Chairs for the following symposia: Theatre History, Pedagogy, Playwriting, Practice/Production
  • Co-Chairs for the Emerging Scholars and Articles-in-Progress/Pitch-Your-Book sessions

The Associate Conference Coordinator is the beginning of the officer sequence in MATC, typically moving to Vice President/Conference Coordinator, then President-Elect, and eventually President; this ensures that the incoming President will be familiar with the procedures of the Executive Committee and the organization of the conference itself. The Webmaster will be responsible for coordinating and executing MATC’s online presence via website, listserv, and social media. Nominations & Appointments Committee Members-At-Large serve a two-year term on the NA Committee (see charge above). The Graduate Student Liaison coordinates social activities and the Graduate Student Assistance Fund and serves as a point of communication between graduate students and the Executive Committee. Co-chairs are responsible for overseeing individual symposia, which includes working with the conference coordinator to craft the call-for-papers, solicit proposals, coordinate sessions, communicate with participants, and represent their symposia. Co-chairing is a two-year commitment; the second year the co-chair will represent the symposia on the NA Committee.

To nominate an individual, send a nomination (no more than 1 page), including the individual’s contact information, to Beth Osborne at

 To self-nominate:

  • For an ELECTED position, send a description (250-300 words) of your qualifications and plans for the office to Beth Osborne at
  • For an APPOINTED position, send a brief letter describing qualifications and interest in the position AND a current CV, including contact information, to Beth Osborne at

The deadline for all nominations is January 12, 2018.

For more information on the organization, please see the website ( or contact Beth Osborne at


The Members of the Nominations and Appointments Committee

Beth Osborne, Nominations Committee Chair and President-Elect

Emily Rollie, Member-at-Large

Season Ellison, Member-at-Large

Chandra Owenby Hopkins, Theatre History Symposium Co-Chair

Milbre Burch, Playwriting Symposium Co-Chair

Drew Vidal, Practice/Production Symposium Co-Chair

Cat Gleason, Pedagogy Symposium Co-Chair